Uncomplicated

We’re launching a new message series on Easter. I’m calling it Uncomplicated.

Surely you’ve noticed that sometimes people make things more complex than they have to be. How hard is it to set the clock in your car? Does your cordless phone have features you can’t figure out? And don’t get me started on computers! Life seems to become more complicated with every passing year.

Seems like this is what has happened to Christianity. Over the centuries churches (and pastors!) have explained the Christian faith in ways that make it seem really complicated.

I hear about this all the time. Someone begins to explore the Christian faith as an adult. They attend a few worship services and then they sit down to talk with me. Their question is always, “How will I ever figure out everything that Christians need to know and do?”

My answer to them is, “It’s really not that complicated.”

So, here’s what I’m going to do. On Easter Sunday I’ll offer an answer to the question: How do I know God loves me? That’s the most basic question of all, and I think you’ll find the answer is, well, uncomplicated.

Then during the month of May we’re going to break down what it means to be a Christ Follower by looking at how Jesus invited people to be in relationship with him. The progression is that first you Follow. Then as a result of following you begin to Believe. Finally, after following and believing out of deep gratitude you begin to search for ways to Obey. 

I hope you’ll plan to join us at Northminster for Easter and the Sundays after. I’m pretty sure you’ll see that being a Christian is actually uncomplicated.

 4.24 Easter Sunday: How Do I Know God Loves Me?

 5.1 Follow

 5.8 Believe

 5.15 Guest Preacher: Wendy McCaig, Executive Director of Embrace Richmond

 5.22 Obey

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

