Pass It On

I stop at Starbucks most mornings on my way to work. There are a couple of reasons for this. First, my cardiologist, after completely cutting off caffeine while I was in the hospital recovering from a heart attack, later told me, “I don’t mind if you have one cup of coffee in the morning.” Since I’m limited to one cup, I want to make it a good one. Second, the thoughtful folks at Starbucks opened a store with a drive-through window that I have to pass by every day.

On my way in this morning there were three cars ahead of me in the drive-through. It was really cold outside and the car was really warm, so I waited more or less patiently for the folks ahead of me to be served. As I pulled up to the window the barista passed me a cup of coffee with her gloved hand, but when I offered her my Starbucks card, she refused to take it. “The lady ahead of you paid for your coffee. She said to have a nice Friday.”

Her kindness brought a smile to my face and a lift to my day. The coffee even tasted better than usual.

The blonde lady in the Mazda 3 made me think about how quick we are to bring people down—with harsh words, an angry gesture, a car horn—and how rarely we go a little out of our way to lift a stranger’s spirit.

The Apostle Paul once counseled Christ followers to “encourage one another and build each other up…” (1 Thessalonians 5:11). All it took to build me up today was for a stranger to randomly buy me a cup of coffee.

Now I get to pass it on.

If you’re in line behind me on Sunday morning, I’m going to do my best to make sure you “have a happy Sunday.”

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Pass It On

  1. Kasey Buckland says:

    What time do you usually get there? 🙂
    How wonderful!!! Such a great reminder!

  2. Wendy says:

    Love this post! Thanks for the reminder to be fully present and thus fully aware of the opportunities that are before me to show loving-kindness to others. What a beautiful way to start your day!

  3. Abby Schreiner says:

    I just might have to follow you to Starbucks Sunday morning 🙂

  4. Lj says:

    Staples Mill road and parham sbux right?! Just making sure …
    😉

Leave a Reply

